What is the history of the The Swepson Guesthouse building?

The Swepson Guesthouse is over 120 years old. We took over the building in early 2021 and decided to expand the living spaces and offer it as a memorable short-term rental experience. During its development in 1909, the original building consisted of two stories. The building was first occupied by a Piggly Wiggly grocery store, then a dental office, and later the LH Harping Hardware Store. The Piggly Wiggly grocery store vacated the property by the mid-1940s, and a third floor was added sometime in the 1960s. In 1978 the property was taken over by Illinois Shade Kentucky, a blind and shade company. The building operated in a similar capacity through 2008 when the property underwent a gut conversion into professional office space for a technology company. Not only did it go through a gut conversion but there was an addition in the rear of patios and staircases, this was to make space for a technology company. In 2016 the building was purchased again and the first floor was made into office spaces, and the second and third floors became residential apartment living. On May 17th, 2021 the building was then purchased by the current owner to use as a short-term rental property. The building is constructed over a basement foundation, with a total of approximately 10,134 square feet of floor space.